The Uncaged Bird -My first Hummingbird has arrived 4/26/2024

birdwatcher said:

This is my first year putting out a hummingbird feeder. When do the generally stay until before they migrate south? 

Still seeing them. I leave mine up into October. Here's the thing. They fatten up to make the long journey, males leave first. We will get the ones that went up further North as well stopping by to refuel.

I removed feeders reluctantly so seeing less birds but I keep water available so here's a visitor.

This little bird caught my eye today it was moving down the trunk like a Nuthatch but noticed the markings so I ran and got my camera. 

Good looking bird no?

Ugh - I was really behind on this thread - just caught up on some great pics from everyone! @lynnl199 any luck attracting Orioles on a regular basis?  I think I've only seen them fly through my backyard once or twice.  I'm by Underhill also.

No, I haven’t seen them here on a regular basis. I have only seen them as they migrate north in April. My hummer feeders are out all summer, but just see only hummers at them after April,

We used to have an oriole nest in our backyard growing up here in Maplewood.  They came back every season - usually nested in the same branch.  One year, that branch was pruned back and never saw them again.

Same birdie different angle.

Could that be a warbler?  https://www.allaboutbirds.org/guide/Black-and-white_Warbler/id#

Morganna said:

Same birdie different angle.

Black and White Warbler! A male I think. Nice find.

Formerlyjerseyjack said:

This guy was in the privet in our yard today.

probably a couple of weeks old.

Robin?

Morganna said:

This little bird caught my eye today it was moving down the trunk like a Nuthatch but noticed the markings so I ran and got my camera. 

Good looking bird no?

It’s beautiful! I think it is a warbler, but I’m not certain. I’ve been seeing lots of Cape May Warblers the past three days.