The NYT Spelling Bee Thread

A few days ago (I think) the pangram was mezzotint.

First time I've seen that word.

alha said:

congrats on both QB's....I missed yesterday by two: "gotta", a word I usually get, and "glottal" I word I've heard of but just didn't see.. 

My only miss was "gotta'" which I usually get, too.

Pulled glottal from some deep recess and was very proud of myself grin

Nice on the back-to-back QBs! Just got there today. Thanks for the inspiration!

I had been playing without the hints for a few months for the challenge. And what I've learned is that for myself it's roughly 10 times more difficult to get QB without hints. 

zucca said:

Well done! QB-1 for me. No way I was getting “flanging.”

QB-1 again so far today. Not hopeful.

Edited because spellcheck corrected “flanging.” Hmph.

jimmurphy said:

zucca said:

Well done! QB-1 for me. No way I was getting “flanging.”

QB-1 again so far today. Not hopeful.

Edited because spellcheck corrected “flanging.” Hmph.

Got QB late last night. Flanging was my last word.

I got the QB today without hints. When I got to Genius, I was only two words short (and one was the pangram), so I decided to try for it without hints. It's a good day to go for it. Only one weird word (truthfully I got it by guessing).

ml1 said:

I got the QB today without hints. When I got to Genius, I was only two words short (and one was the pangram), so I decided to try for it without hints. It's a good day to go for it. Only one weird word (truthfully I got it by guessing).

I'm missing the weird word.  9 letters.

jimmurphy said:

same here

jimmurphy said:

ml1 said:

my weird word was only 4 letters grin

yeah, the nine letter word is a little weird. but I've heard it before, so not too outlandish

I got Genius for the first time yesterday. I think yesterday's puzzle was easier than average from what I've seen so far though.

sac said: